2016-2017 Management Committee

The following people were duly elected to the 2016-2017 Management Committee. The successful officers of the club are:

Chairman: Andrew Forsythe
Vice Chair/Administrator: Derek Hulse
Treasurer: Phillipa Taylor
Club Captain: Tania Ahrens
Club Delegate: David Traill
Junior Surf Co-ordinator: Nikki Thompson
Club Development Officer: John Kearney
Equipment Manager: To be appointed
Surf Sports Co-ordinator: Andrew Wright
Lifeguard Instructor: John Kearney
Power Craft Officer: John Kearney
Sponsorship Manager: Ryan Trounce
Social Co-ordinator: To be appointed
ATV Officer: To be appointed
First Aid Officer: Kelly Innes
Building Manager: Ben McKernan
Gear Steward: Dene Green
Patron: Gladys Gulbransen

Categories: Uncategorized | Comments Off on 2016-2017 Management Committee




Please advise by return email to ruakakasurfpatrol@gmail.com if you are able to attend so we can ensure we have sufficient catering. We will put on dinner and dessert, you just need to bring your own drinks. See you there.

If we do not reach quorum as below we will aim to hold the second meeting at 6:45pm on Saturday 6th of August.

14.6             Quorum: No business shall be transacted at any General Meeting unless a quorum is present at the time when the meeting is due to commence as set out in the notice of meeting. The quorum for a General Meeting shall be twenty percent (20%) of the Members. The quorum must be present at all times during the meeting. If a quorum is not obtained within thirty (30) minutes of the intended commencement time of the General Meeting, then the General Meeting shall be adjourned to such other day, time and place as determined by the Club Committee and if no quorum is obtained at the stage of such further General Meeting, then the persons present at that further General Meeting are deemed to constitute a valid quorum.


Categories: Uncategorized | Comments Off on AGM

Working Bee Coming Up


Ben will be leading the charge with the Working Bee on the 31st of July starting at 10am.

Categories: Uncategorized | Comments Off on Working Bee Coming Up

Live Harbour Conditions

We have been after the information on the Northport website for a while now but the best we can do to date is a link to their Weather Feed.

It’s on our Surf Cam page as well as here, check it out…


Categories: Uncategorized | Comments Off on Live Harbour Conditions

PRIZE GIVING – Sat 19th March, 2016

Our Club Prize Giving is coming up Saturday 19th March at the clubhouse, so please add this to your calendar if you haven’t done so already.  We will be kicking off at 5pm for the Juniors Prizegiving, followed by a BBQ dinner and then the Senior Prizegiving.
Please RSVP if you will be attending with numbers – adults/children etc to assist with catering to Debbie 4303030. Following tradition, the club will provide the meat and something sweet for afterwards. Please BYO drinks and salad or veges to share.
Categories: Uncategorized | Comments Off on PRIZE GIVING – Sat 19th March, 2016

Support for SurfCam

VITELCOM_LOGO_finalA big thanks to Vitelcom for the support they have shown us, fixing our feed problems and email spam and nowmanaging our hosting free of charge.

Categories: Uncategorized | Comments Off on Support for SurfCam

Ruakaka Surf Day Sat 5 March 10am


Categories: Uncategorized | Comments Off on Ruakaka Surf Day Sat 5 March 10am

Ahipara IRB Exam


Here are a few images from the recent exam at Ahipara were everyone passed

IRB Crew
Abbey Reeve
Caleb Russ
Chay Lewis-Davis
Connor Mackereth
D’lane Martin
Raven Leigh (Malcom)
Tania Ahrens
Reed Neville-Smith
IRB Driver
Alesha Ahrens
Angus Dorahy
IRB Driver & Crew
Alice Neville-Smith
Andrew Forsythe
Dana Thomas
Wilson Turner























Categories: Uncategorized | Comments Off on Ahipara IRB Exam

Far North IRB Exam Results


Some got to participate properly while others had to wait their turn. However all who travelled north to Ahipara are now qualified as CREW or DRIVER or both. 

Congratulations to

Abbey Reeve CREW
Caleb Russ CREW
Chay Lewis-Davis CREW
Connor Mackereth CREW
D’lane Martin CREW
Raven Leigh (Malcom) CREW
Tania Ahrens CREW
Reed Neville-Smith CREW
Alesha Ahrens DRIVER
Angus Dorahy DRIVER
Alice Neville-Smith CREW/DRIVER
Andrew Forsythe CREW/DRIVER
Wilson Turner CREW/DRIVER

Categories: Uncategorized | Comments Off on Far North IRB Exam Results

Loss of a Life Member

The Club is deeply saddened to inform members that Life Member Brian Hutton passed away, peacefully, in the care of North Haven Hospice, November 10th 2015, aged 70 years.
Brian played a notable part in the club, over many eras. He served time as Club Captain, and over a decade as Club President. Brian continued to support the club over the years, with his most recent achievement was organizing our Clubs 50th Jubilee.
“Now at peace” A service will be held in the Chapel at Newberrys Funeral Home, cnr of Kamo Rd and Moody Ave, Whau Valley, Whangarei, on Friday 13th November, at 1pm followed by a private cremation.
All communications to ‘The Hutton Family’ c-/ PO Box 5116, Whangarei 0140
Categories: Uncategorized | Comments Off on Loss of a Life Member